Skip to content

Will Disco Harm my Children?

November 20, 2009

According to their father, most assuredly so.  Anything that smacks of 80’s New Wave (Modern English, Devo, Duran Duran, ABC, English Beat, Roxy Music…oh, I could go on and on) is equally insidious.  This from the man who’s just as certain that Black Sabbath and AC/DC are essential to full brain development in toddlers and teens.  (Full disclosure:  I actually am a bigger AC/DC fan than him, so I really shouldn’t have included them in that disparaging remark.  It just seemed like the thing to do at the time.)

The Best of KC and the Sunshine Band gets plenty of airplay at the Savvy home, as do my 70’s disco compilations.  (And can I just say, how can you NOT like “I’m your Boogie Man?”)  Thank goodness my kids can appreciate good dance music, because just looking at the CD covers gives my husband a rash.  But I know if the kids are onboard I can bring my musical choices along on road trips with impunity, and so from day one I have enthusiastically foisted my musical tastes upon my children.  Who says brainwashing is overrated?

Fortunately the hubs and I do have converging musical tastes, and so the whole family enjoys Led Zeppelin, Van Morrison, The Steve Miller Band, the Beatles, Aerosmith, Warren Zevon, Supertramp, Jethro Tull and The Who, among others (all great road trip music, by the way.)  Are you sensing a theme, here?  Classic rock (also known as “dirtbag music,” according to my father-in-law) is big at our house.  We also enjoy numerous Broadway musicals, “Doof on a Roof,” as my husband says, being the favorite.  This is good for several reasons:

  1. We aren’t subjected to rap (there are plenty of songs I like, but as a whole this particular genre is too misogynistic and repetitive for me; “sampling” my patootie – come up with your own hook!)
  2. No Mariah Carey
  3. My kids probably know who Britney Spears is, but I guarantee they can’t mimic one of her dance moves even if you offer them money – thank goodness 
  4. I can sing all of the words to all of the songs (and feel free to do so with great gusto whether at home or in the car, much to my children’s chagrin… although they too are starting to sing along)
  5. Why, it’s something the whole family can enjoy together!

At this point (ages 10 and 12) the kids are developing a taste for some current tunes based on what they’re exposed to through friends.  Although I like what I’ve heard so far, I’ve come to realize I have to vet the lyrics before the kids can learn them – love the “clean” option on YouTube!  I’m sure as they get older they’ll listen to more and more music that curls the hair on my – I mean on my husband’s – toes.  Oh well, at least we’ll always have Stairway to Heaven.   

By the way…the hubs may profess to hate disco, but he did admit to me once, “Car Wash is a pretty good song” (after I caught him singing along). 

Honey, it don’t get  much more disco than that. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

