Skip to content

Be Safe – It’s June!

June 12, 2009

A life-long voracious reader, I have always enjoyed any stint in a medical or dental waiting room.  Even as a kid, walking in the door to be greeted by stacks and racks of magazines made me feel a bit giddy, and I was never put out by a long wait. 

However, there were a couple of exceptions to the rule.  If I walked into a waiting room only to find Good Housekeeping and/or Sunset Magazine, fuggedaboudit.  I simply couldn’t imagine anyone in their right mind actually finding anything interesting in either magazine, and the idea that some people actually paid money for the privilege of reading them…well, the thought just about blew my adolescent mind.

So I knew I was good and grown up with no turning back when I realized years later that I actually enjoy both magazines, and in fact more often than not read them cover to cover when I have the chance.  Scary stuff, akin to the moment when you realize most of the items on your Christmas list have to do with making house cleaning or home repairs easier.

It’s a good thing I matured to this point, too, otherwise I might have missed the June issue of Good Housekeeping’s special section, “The ABC’s of Home Safety,” and I may have never known that June is Home Safety Month and National Safety Month.

According to Good Housekeeping, the top five causes of home injury are falls, poisonings, fires/burns, choking/suffocation and drowning.  If that list makes you feel a bit paranoid in what you thought was your safe castle, check out the Home Safety Council, a non-profit dedicated to preventing home related injuries.

The Council’s aim is to cut down on the national average of 20,000 deaths and 21 million medical visits each year by educating people of all ages on how to be safer in and around their home.  This is an excellent website, with layer upon layer of information and resources including links for kids and adults, a virtual home safety tour, and the opportunity to create your own customized safety checklist.  

You’ll also find great information and resources at the  National Safety Month website.  In addition to home safety, this website addresses such issues as workplace safety and teen driving.

Now get out into that big, bad living room and be safe!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

